Salsa > Should styling be taught if......

Discussion in 'Salsa' started by salsachinita, Jul 19, 2004.

1. salsachinita

salsachinita New Member

...........the newbies are still struggling with timing/finding the beat?

This thought occured to me last Thursday, as I arrived at one of the clubs too early so we ended up watching the class.

These were absolute beginners. I don't think half of them knew how to work with the music, or how to dance with a partner.......

Yet, they were all counting while learning 101 moves completed with *very* dramatic styling (think sychronised swimming). Everyone with serious facial expressions, from the concertration of memorising the 'routine'.........

Out of boredom/curiosity, Rico & I each danced with one. He said that his newbie did not know how to move with him, while mine 'parked' us in the middle of the dancefloor & proceeded to teach me the moves :shock: ........

..........I really feel for the students, as I don't believe it's their fault :cry: .

What's your take, guys....? Is it a common situation where you are? Can the classes be conducted more effectively....? How does one give such information to teachers? Are they indeed awarer at all?

2. timbafreak

timbafreak New Member

OOH don't get me started on teachers! :evil:
    I was thinking about this yesterday, I went out dancing, the guys kept going off the beat when he was turning me, and doing lots of complicated arm work. I asked him how long he'd had been dancing, and he said three lessons.

Very nicely I told him to stop doing everything, and focus of the basic step, holding me properly, and leading me correctly. I don't like to do that, because I'm not a teacher, and hate seeing people do so in a club. However, why create a bunch of dancers that don't dance properly?

For the record, he enjoyed it, thanked me, and came back a few times to practise his new found timing, bless him :lol: