Tango Argentino > Shouldn't anyone be able to tango?

Discussion in 'Tango Argentino' started by MadamSamba, May 3, 2004.

1. MadamSamba

MadamSamba Member

I heard an intersting theory recently, one that makes some sense. Tango is very much a walking dance and, in theory, you could go an entire night just doing tango walks. If that's so, why do so many people have trouble with tango and claim it so difficult? In theory, if you can walk, you can tango, but I've seen some pretty bad tangos from people who are quite graceful in other forms of dance.

What is it that is so difficult or perceived to be so difficult about our beloved tango?

2. TemptressToo

TemptressToo Member

Tango is by far my worst dance (except for Bolero and Samba--both of which I'm just learning, thus I don't yet count them as dances I do). I'm really working on keeping my legs slightly bent, releasing my toe, tilting my body, etc. There is so much to remember...I just don't enjoy it. I normally attempt to sit them out...but for some reason, men just don't like it when I do that. ;)

Anyway, I know like four things...the basic, the promenade (to the swivel turn thingy and tango close), the corte, and the double corte. These I do well. It is SO frustrating because people try other things...but for some reason, I'm concentrating so much I just can't do it. I end up about to burst into tears because I am simply not used to not being about to do something immediately.

Burns me up...

3. bordertangoman

bordertangoman Well-Known Member

TemptressToo - Don't give up. Maybe you're trying too hard? :?
    I'm told it is more difficult than other dances but I only do AT so I have nothing to compare. Try following the man no matter what he does and don't think about any particular step. keep your sternum facing his. step forward/backward only in the direction that your hips face.

The tango is only a forward, backward or sideways step, or a pivot.