Salsa > So how many salsa moves (patterns) do you know???

Discussion in 'Salsa' started by ChicagoSalsero, Oct 6, 2009.

1. ChicagoSalsero

ChicagoSalsero New Member

Hello people, so I’m new to this website and I’m currently taking intermediate salsa classes, so I’m fairly new to salsa as well.
    I have been only dancing for a couple of months and I have been adding patterns as my dancing improves. My plan is just to master about 10 or so patterns and just stick with them, I don’t want to take classes forever or become a pro, I just want to enjoy salsa but have a few moves so that my dancing is not boring as it was at first when I started to dance. When I first started to dance, I basically just knew the basic step and the right turn for the ladies followed by my right turn pattern. Now I’ve just learned the cross over lead with a few turn options, and now I’m learning the in/out moves.

So I am curious to know specially from the guys; how many salsa patters does the average salsa dancer knows???? Do you repeat patterns in a song?

And for the ladies, do you expect your guy to know many dance patters???, is it Ok if he repeats a couple of patterns during a song?? Do you think is boring to dance with a guy if he only knows a few moves??

Thanks!!

2. tangotime

tangotime Well-Known Member

Remember.. its the QUALITY of what you dance...NOt the quantity

ajiboyet likes this.
  3. jennyisdancing

jennyisdancing Active Member

If you know 10 patterns, that's plenty. Guys who only have been dancing a few months, often know less than that. They definitely repeat patterns and I certainly expect that. It's not boring if the guy has a nice, warm personality, a clear lead, and good rhythm; that makes it fun. Focus on those things more than patterns. :)

4. sambagirl

sambagirl Member