Ballroom Dance > So I did my first non-Arthur Murray comp last week...

Discussion in 'Ballroom Dance' started by RookieDancer, Nov 5, 2015.

1. RookieDancer

RookieDancer New Member

I've been going to an Arthur Murray studio for the past 3 years. I'm now at the Bronze 4 level. I met my girlfriend there. She's at the Bronze 2 level. A month ago we decided to try doing a non-AM event. So we did the D.C. Dancesport Inferno (DCDI) last week.

During my 3 years at AM, I've done three national Rama events and almost always do the local Fall and Spring/Summer Freestyles and Showcase events. So I'm not exactly a stranger to doing dance competitions/events. My girlfriend has done two local Freestyles, so she's not a total noob either. Nevertheless, we decided to do the newcomer division at DCDI with the main objective being to gain non-AM comp experience.

We did both Rhythm and Smooth. The Rhythm dances we did were Rumba, ChaCha, and Swing. The Smooth dances we did were Waltz, Tango, Foxtrot. We did really well in the Rhythm. We got 1st in Rumba (out of a field of 62 couples), 2nd in ChaCha (out of a field of 65 couples), and 3rd in Swing (out of a field of 57 couples). We also got 2nd Place overall (not even sure what that means though). Smooth day was another story, however. We didn't even make the quarter finals in the Tango and Foxtrot. We at least made the quarter finals in the Waltz, but our adventure stopped there.

I'm not entirely sure why we did so poorly in the Smooth. Admittingly, we're both more Rhythm dancers than Smooth. And Tango isn't even in my girlfriend's AM program (all the Tango she knows is what she learned from group classes). But I was looking at the couples who beat us, and I was thinking there was no way we looked that, for lack of a better term, "bad". A lot of their frames looked noodley and some weren't even doing heel leads/toe releases.