General Dance Discussion > Social Dancing with More Advanced Dancers

Discussion in 'General Dance Discussion' started by Wyndstorm Huntress, Dec 15, 2007.

1. I've been taking group classes in ballroom and west coast swing for three months now. It's been recommended to me that a good way to improve my skills is to attend social dances, and dance with as many different partners as I can.

When asked to dance, or when I ask someone to dance, I always tell them right up front that I'm just a beginner. The majority of guys I've danced with have been very gracious about this, and the practice is helping me get better at following leads for things that I haven't learned yet.

Occasionally, I get the guy who dances to his level, not mine, and it's way more than I can handle. For example, last night at a studio party, one lead in particular had me trying to do so many advanced steps that about mid-way through the song, we were tripping over each other's feet practically every measure. His solution was to hold me right up to his body, and to try and lead me by pushing my legs with his legs. I should mention this was a waltz, and the solution didn't work very well.

I mentioned a few times when the tripping started, "I haven't learned how to do that yet." Oddly, he'd still try to do the same step, and we'd trip again. I just wasn't getting it. Even when he was doing a pattern that I was familiar with, such as a change step, he was adding these twists and direction changes to it that got me disoriented with what my footwork was supposed to be.

So what do I say or do when this happens? Clearly I've communicated that I'm a beginner, and that there were patterns he was trying that I was unable to do. Should I just try my best to just endure the rest of the song? I've been told that a large number of the dancers who frequent my studio's parties are silver and gold level dancers. Is it difficult for someone who is that advanced to dance at a beginner level?

2. mamboqueen