Ballroom Dance > Starting a new collegiate competition

Discussion in 'Ballroom Dance' started by BrokeForBallroom, Apr 26, 2017.

1. BrokeForBallroom

BrokeForBallroom New Member

Hi everyone! I did a search for this, but couldn't find much info on the topic. My collegiate team (Boston area) is considering having a competition of our own. My current plan is to use the next year (2017/18 academic year) to research and pitch a really solid plan for the competition to our school with the goal of having our first competition in the 2018/19 academic year. I can't find any resources on this though, and was hopping any of you who have been involved in planning a competition could point me towards some info. I have been competing in the collegiate scene for several years now, so I think I have a general idea of all the people involved on the day of, but I don't know anything about the behind the scenes work, or the costs involved in getting a competition set up.

2. BrokeForBallroom

BrokeForBallroom New Member

I know there was advice given on this topic in a different thread for a school in Texas (it won't let me post a link) but those numbers seem either outdated, or the difference in location has a huge impact on price. $50-$150 for the day per judge just sounds wildly unrealistic to me, when I'm paying $90-100 per 45 minute lesson with my coaches, who do judge other local competitions.

3. DanceMentor

DanceMentor Administrator

Try contacting USA Dance. They may very well help you do some of the work. I know they want to grow in this area.

s2k and Sania like this.
  4. dlliba10

dlliba10 Well-Known Member

Sent you a PM!

5. Larinda McRaven

Larinda McRaven Site Moderator Staff Member

Talk to the other Boston collegiate comps?

Purr, Sania, s2k and 2 others like this.
  6. Joe

Joe Well-Known Member

^^^ this. Your biggest problem is probably gonna be finding space in the Boston comp schedule.

7. Titoxd

Titoxd Member