Swing Discussion Boards > Team Teaching

Discussion in 'Swing Discussion Boards' started by pygmalion, Jan 10, 2004.

1. pygmalion

pygmalion Well-Known Member

Here's an observation from a relative swing newbie. Swing dancers teach in teams, ballroom dancers teach as individuals. Obviously, that's a generalization, so there are lots of exceptions. But virtually every swing workshop ongoing class I've seen involves team teaching, while few ballroom classes/lessons I've attended have had the team approach.

What's the deal with that? Just tradition? How does it work? What are the benefits? Any down sides for the students or teachers?

2. bjp22tango

bjp22tango Active Member

By team teaching, do you mean a lead and follow are both involved in the lesson?

I will relate my experience and give my "off the top of my head" observations and thoughts.

I have been dancing socially for 20 years and teaching in a social atmosphere for close to 8 years. I have competed in a very limited capacity. I attend workshops of just about every type of partner dance now available.

Workshops

In my experience, people putting on workshops (of all types, not limited to ballroom or "street" dances) want to get their monies worth. They have to pay a lot of money to bring in top teachers who may or may not have a partner, as well as advertise, book space, provide staff, etc. It makes sense to split the teachers up and have them teach separate classes at the same time so that more classes can be taught and more money can be made so that expenses can be covered, more workshops can be funded, etc. This is possible if both dance partners are able to teach. Single teachers will often take one or two of the better dancers in a class to use as partners when demonstrations are needed.

Teaching in General

Classes can be geared for many different objectives:

Teach a pattern for social dancing.
    Teach a pattern for competitive dancing.
    Teach one new, difficult move.
    Teach a routine.