Swing Discussion Boards > the basics

Discussion in 'Swing Discussion Boards' started by goldfish, Mar 3, 2004.

1. goldfish

goldfish New Member

hi all, i'm pretty new to dancing and was wondering: i want to do the basics right, and after a dance camp, it hit me that although i thought i *was* doing them right, there's soooo much more in say, a turn, lindy circle or a swingout than i ever imagined. where you put your weight, the "and" beats, frame...

and then thing is, i don't necessarily know that i'm doing it wrong - i mean, my partners don't always notice - until a teacher goes, hey you're not finishing up your triple step properly...etc. how do you know you're doing it right? what does "right" feel like?

i don't want to start with lousy basics since that's the foundation of, well, everything. but i don't have the money for private after private (yet!).

i've heard dancers say that they did complex things, variations and styling, and then had to go right back to the basics and unlearn a lot of bad habits. is there any way of preventing this? or is that learning/dancing's natural cycle? :)

oh, and follows are always talking about how great a really really good lead feels. on the flip side, what makes a really good follow? other than doing everything backwards and in heels... :p

2. cl5814

cl5814 New Member

practice

Goldfish,

now that you know what you are suppose to be doing, you just need to practice that. Consider yourself lucky that you found out while still learning/getting comfortable with the basics, rather than much later when you would need to correct the bad habit(s). Believe me, i am suffering through the bad habits in some of my dances.

3. Jmatthew

Jmatthew New Member

You could write a million pages on this and never say everything that needs to be said. It's much much easier to see and evaluate, but...

1) while you're new focus hard on hitting all your triple steps.

2) Make sure you're bouncing into the floor, not up into the air