Tango Argentino > The essence of Tango Argentino

Discussion in 'Tango Argentino' started by jantango, Dec 5, 2009.

1. jantango

jantango Active Member

2. Angel HI

Angel HI Well-Known Member

Please, Forgive the Lengthy Post

I am very happy to see this article, and agree with its concepts and philosophies. I have been teaching these same things for much of the 25 years that I have been dancing tango. I do, however, disagree with some of the statements' clarity, as they could be misleading.

It stated: "All movements that occur are while maintaining this embrace. The embrace is not broken. This is nearly universal for porteños dancing in the milongas of Buenos Aires."

Understood that this appears to be directed to those dancing in other than a closed embrace. I understand, but...

It stated: "Open the embrace and the emotional connection between man and woman is compromised, and, "...nearly universal for porteños..." ."

This would imply that even these porteños who relax the embrace do not know, or are not dancing, tango. I would question this. Furthter, tango is not the only dance with its type of embrace, nor the only dance, internationally, that maintains such.

Again, I agree with the feelings of the walk. Yet, it stated, "The tango walk is improvised. ‘Tango is a feeling that is danced.’ Walking is not unique to tango, but the manner of walking is. "

If these things are true, then the walk is not a didactic, rigid, and unchanging element. One can not say that there is but one way to do it. No two persons walk the same, thus, no two persons will dance the same. In the same manner, no two persons might; 'feel' the same thing, to the same stimulus, at the same time. This is not a bad thing. Contrarily, it is a good thing. It has allowed tango to be born, reborn, grow, and evolve as we have since the '30s and '40s of its origins.