Swing Discussion Boards > The Skippy Blair System?

Discussion in 'Swing Discussion Boards' started by waltzgirl, Feb 20, 2007.

1. waltzgirl

waltzgirl Active Member

I was talking to someone tonight about possibly becoming dance partners and, as we talked about the various dances we do and who we might want to take lessons from, he insisted that he would only do wcs swing with a particular instructor because she was trained in what he called the Skippy Blair system.

I'm a beginner at wcs, not part of the scene at all, and though I've certainly heard of Skippy Blair, I had no idea what I'd be getting myself into if I agreed to take lessons in this "system."

Can anyone enlighten me?

2. Dancelf

Dancelf Member

Start here:

http://www.swingworld.com/

I've taken a three day "intensive" with Skippy, four or five years ago. I recommend it once, if you have the opportunity (she's been with us a long time now, so remember that there's a limit to the number of opportunities left). She's also been kind enough to answer a few emails I've sent to her since.

Lots of good stuff (particularly different ways of thinking about dance), some magic feathers (as in: I don't think that it's really true, but if it gets results there's no reason to complain), and a number of things I dismiss as kool-aid.

It's a system, which by itself is going to beat the pants off of being taught by an instructor who is making things up as they go along.

It's a system, and has had a lot of input from many very good dancers and instructors.

It's a system, and the pieces taken as a whole are well integrated. You are going to make progress, and you are going to be able to dance well with a lot of good dancers (especially if you are based in California).