Ballroom Dance > To bleach or not to bleach?

Discussion in 'Ballroom Dance' started by sprifty, Feb 6, 2009.

1. sprifty

sprifty New Member

So last night my coaches and I were discussing my to-do list before my comp next week. (Things like get my fake nails redone, go spray tanning etc). And my hair colour came up. Naturally I think I'm a medium brown (I've been dying my hair for the last 4 years so not 100% sure). But for comps, I normally dye it a really dark brown, almost black. On the dance floor it looks great. However, last night my coaches were trying to convince me that instead I really should considered bleaching my hair a light blond. You know the one I'm talking about. The almost white competition blond. And I completely agree. With my colouring, my partner's colouring and my costumes, the blond would look amazing...on the dance floor. But what about OFF the floor?

So my question for you is for those of you who do dye their hair to be more competitive on the dance floor, do you feel odd off the competition floor? Is it worth it?

2. mamboqueen

mamboqueen Well-Known Member

I would say "yes", sometimes I do feel a bit odd when I dye my hair (red) because it's definitely a very vivid color and since I only do it *that* vividly around comp time, I always get comments (got a comp coming up??). For me, I think it is worth it. It's not totally unnatural looking on me, and red fades pretty quickly. Can't speak to platinum blonde...seems to me the growing-out would be the tricky part (not to mention the chemicals are probably bit harsher).

3. and123

and123 Well-Known Member

Isn't there someone on DF who wears wigs when competing?

4. mamboqueen

Roadrunner did...but haven't seen her here in eons. Wish she'd come back!

5. etp777

etp777 Active Member

definitely miss roadrunner.