Swing Discussion Boards > Trouble leading a WC Swing whip

Discussion in 'Swing Discussion Boards' started by MPLSguy, Dec 16, 2013.

1. MPLSguy

MPLSguy New Member

Hello,

I'm taking classes at a studio which doesn't teach the 'J-hook' to lead a whip. Since I'm a student there I won't respectably be able to take any J-hook advice for this question due to their methodology. Thanks in advance.

Their method of leading the whip is to redirecting the follower somewhere between 1 and 2 by causing compression with the hand/wrist while swiveling your body to the side.

My question is...I'm having a super hard time with it. We rotate followers constantly and sometimes I feel that I can lead it almost effortlessly and then I have followers who get confused and basically stop moving mid-pattern. It's difficult to tell what I'm doing right or wrong because the follower might be breaking frame or generally confused, or might be hyper sensitive and basically back leading to some degree to make it a success.

I know this is a hard question to answer, but what I'm looking for is any tips on how to lead this better.

2. vit

vit Active Member

Is this video of any help ? That's basically how we are doing it

3. snapdancer

snapdancer Well-Known Member

Your studio wants you to lead with your body, not with your arms (which is what the "J" lead is). And from what you describe as the reaction of some of your followers, you're probably not getting out of the slot and are blocking their path to the other end. The other followers are probably compensating for your misdeeds by going out of the slot to get around you. I hate it when I get a new follower who goes outside of the slot on her own after being conditioned to do so by new leaders.

Let's break this pattern down:

On count 0, (the last count of the prior pattern), the follower should be anchored on her left foot and poised to step forward on her right after you give her a lead.