Ballroom Dance > USA Dance vs NDCA for Amateur Couple

Discussion in 'Ballroom Dance' started by Yana, Jun 3, 2017.

1. Yana

Yana Member

I've read through several posts about this, but I'm a little confused and I don't think my question has been addressed. If this is a duplicate post, please delete and refer me to one that already exists....

My background is in Pro/Am dancing so Am/Am is a totally different world to me...

My dance partner and I would like to compete in the fall. We are looking at a USA Dance event and a NDCA event, but I'm not sure which one would be better for us. This will be our first competition together (his first ever). We will be competing closed silver latin. Which comp would be more cost efficient (USA Dance or NDCA)? We would also like to dance AT just for the fun of it, so again, not sure which comp would be better. As an amateur couple, would we have to register as NDCA members? I know that we would have to register as USA Dance members. Also, if we do the NDCA event, would it be better to enter as Student/Student or as Am/Am?

More specifically, the comps we are looking at are the Carolina Classic (USA Dance) and the Hotlanta Classic (NDCA).

Any help, advice, tips would be greatly appreciated. Thanks so much!

2. Bailamosdance

Bailamosdance Well-Known Member

which comp is closer to you?

3. s2k

s2k Well-Known Member

Hi, Yana, and welcome to Am-Am! Good luck ... my partner and I both think am-am is way harder than pro-am, but it sure has made us better dancers. Wishing you success on this journey!

My NDCA advice is based solely on there are NO NDCA all-am events in my region or my coast. So the NDCA comps we have danced at as am-am are pro-am comps that have taken our money to let us dance uncontested when pro-am scholarship is on the floor. So I can't advise on the all-am NDCA events, and my advice is therefore only on an amateur couple dancing at a NDCA pro-am event.