User Interface Improvements

Discussion in 'Dancers Anonymous' started by DanceMentor, Mar 10, 2016.

1. DanceMentor

DanceMentor Administrator

2. Mr 4 styles

Mr 4 styles Well-Known Member

We need cerebro....

3. DL

DL Well-Known Member

It's great that you care about this and are working on it. I give my $0.02 below; but note I'm not a UI professional.
    1. My biggest UI wish is that DF would eliminate animated ads, or at least those that loop repeatedly. They're a terrible distraction.
    2. Re: icons ("next", "binocular", "play button", etc.) -- I'm not a fan of icons, because their meaning is often hard to decipher. A possible solution is to add mouse-over content with the text meaning of the icon; but then I think mouse-over is a poor choice for mobile (how to mouse-over with mobile, anyway?), and also perhaps for accessibility (e.g. browser tools for the visually-impaired; but I defer to a pro here).
    3. Re: hiding links behind a new "actions" drill-down -- it seems to me that this generally would hurt discoverability.
    Having 3 "Dance Forums" on a page, extra <hr>s, other general space concerns and removing redundant/needless information -- these make sense to me.

For page number size ("easier to press on mobile"), consider whether the size emphasis should be different for mobile vs. desktop (not sure how hard that is, and not really expressing a firm opinion here).

Hope that helps. In the end I guess all UI problems boil down to just trying something and then finding out whether people become happier or unhappier, anyway.

Cheers,
    DL

4. DanceMentor

Thanks for your answer. For the animated ads, what we have been doing is charging a little more for them. Honestly, we do our best to make enough money that everything is paid for with the server and the programming with a little left to do things like this. I do understand and hopefully we can more consistently fill our ad spots, and simply raise the price yet not allow animation.

5. DL