Ballroom Dance > Waistcoat/vest question

Discussion in 'Ballroom Dance' started by Ice Bucket, Sep 30, 2012.

1. Ice Bucket

Ice Bucket Member

I could use some expert advice. I'm a beginner, looking for a waistcoat (which I think is called a vest in the USA). Next weekend my DP and I are giving a performance of two routines as part of a dance-school show. One of the dances is a Paso Doble: when I performed this before, I borrowed a waistcoat from a professional and I'd like to wear one again, but will I be OK in a non-dance-specific one? My concern is the amount of movement they allow and the possibility of it ending up round my ears. As I say I'm a beginner and I'll also be performing for a mostly non-ballroom audience, so the look is not a matter of life and death, but at the same time I'd rather not look like a sack of potatoes. Can I just buy a cheap one from the men's department or would I be better off going without than doing that? Advice appreciated.

2. bia

bia Well-Known Member

Yes, a department store waistcoat should be fine. Since you don't have the shoulder/sleeve issue that you would with a store-bought jacket, riding up shouldn't be a big problem. Just make sure that it fits well -- not so tight that it's pulling at the buttons, and not so loose that you have to use the little belt thingy to cinch it in. Wear suspenders rather than a belt under it -- that'll give you a smoother line around the waist and keep the pants and shirt more in place, so the shirt doesn't poof out between the pants and vest (sorry, "trousers and waistcoat").

Warren J. Dew likes this.
  3. dancerdol

dancerdol Member

Hi - my Pro has also worn a waiter's vest for showcases- very inexpensive and they come in a variety of lengths. You can find them via internet or restaurant supply stores.

4. brianl

brianl New Member