Waltz and VW music, accents, and timing

Discussion in 'Ballroom Dance' started by Piggles, Nov 24, 2011.

1. Piggles

Piggles Member

My teacher and I had a brief discussion yesterday about waltz and VW music that got me thinking. I studied music before I learned to dance and so I have always felt that dancing represents a physical interpretation of the music (not looking for a chicken vs egg discussion here...).

When I think about the waltz music that I've played, music with 3/4 timing tended to have a slightly firmer, more delibrate beat than 6/8 music which for me at least, usually feels more whimsical. I attribute my opinion to the way I count music when I play it so that I use the 1 as my primary accent, and 4 as the secondary accent.

[Note: There are many exceptions to my impression, not least of all the oom-pah-pah music I try to avoid. I understand the history of waltz music and waltz dancing, but am referring to present day music and dance.]

So my questions are really these:

1. Is VW like 6/8 music where the 1 is the primary accent beat and the 4 is the secondary accent beat? Or are 1 and 4 equally accented?

2. When doing a 3-beat check between reverse and natural fleckerl in VW , how does it not throw the dancers off the music's 6-beat phrasing?

2. Mengu

Mengu Active Member

Depends a lot on the song, but in many slow waltzes, a commonly used accent pattern for each phrase is...

Strong 1-23, Soft 2-23, Strong 3-23, Soft 4-23, Strong 5-23, Stronger! 6-23, Strong 7-23, Soft 8-23.

You will find exceptions everywhere though... In VW I think more commonly it's all strong bars.