Swing Discussion Boards > What to expect for Swing Dance comp workshops?

Discussion in 'Swing Discussion Boards' started by RickRS, Apr 28, 2009.

1. RickRS

RickRS Member

I'm thinking of going to the Swing Dance Grand Nationals at Atlanta, May 21-24, to see the comp events and to attend the workshops. As a beginner, I never been to one of these events before and am not sure what to expect at the workshops. Anyone care to enlighten a newbie?

2. Ithink

Ithink Active Member

Expect a lot of awesome social dancing into the wee hours, great workshops (not sure who's giving workshops but I am sure they'll be great), seeing a lot of pro competition routines, etc. But mostly you will come back a much better dancer because of all the dancing you'll do all weekend. These weekends are awesome for social dancing. You should also try to compete if there are newcomer/novice jack&jill competitions...

I've not been to Grand Nationals but have heard many great things. Have heard that the shaggers who go to this comp are supernice and fun...

3. Dancelf

Dancelf Member

It varies from event to event. Grand Nationals is fairly typical of a large event, though.

The Workshop Schedule is published.

The workshops are all being taught by top competitors (in other words, the same group of folks that you would see in Champinons/Invitational divisions). Generally about an hour long. Most workshops, but not all, will be "learn a cool pattern". Well attended classes are usually broken up into several rows, with partners changing every few minutes.

Skill levels in the workshops usually run from "I'm new, this is my first event" to "I'm not ready to compete yet". In my experience you won't see many of the competitors in the workshops - they are using that time to catch up on sleep.