Swing Discussion Boards > What to learn ?

Discussion in 'Swing Discussion Boards' started by SpillMeOut, Mar 16, 2006.

1. SpillMeOut

SpillMeOut New Member

I was thinking about taking dance classes and Im not sure which one to start with. Should i start with East Coast (jitterbug) then learn Lindy hop after i feel comfortable? I dont think West Coast Swing is big in my area (New England, U.S.)

Also i have checked around my area to see where i could dance and i see that there is quite a few swing and salsa places. Now when it says swing, does that mean ecs or lindy?

Sorry im really new to dancing and im trying to get into it to meet new people and try something new.

2. It's Wonderful

It's Wonderful New Member

If it says "swing", it's probably ECS and Lindy, but it's hard to say - maybe talk to the organizers if you don't just want to jump in? As for what to learn, check out this thread - it's a very similar topic.

http://dance-forums.com/showthread.php?t=11117

Be sure to post if there's other details you'd like to chat about, there are a lot swing dancers on this forum that know about your area! And welcome to DF :)

3. leftfeetnyc

leftfeetnyc New Member

West Coast Swing is big in certain areas of New England...the Boston Area, Albany, NYC, DC, Philly...Connecticut and Jersey have decent scenes to.

If you're picking a style of swing, go based on music preference and personality....are you a bit wild, up for anything, willing to experiment, like old big band music and fast dancing? Do lindy. like more contemporary and blues, something a little more conservative, do West Coast.

There a lot of cross over between the two, i did a lot of sterotyping, but they are a general overview image. ECS is a good starter point to lindy. Many people just do ECS, but for people really into dance and expressing themselves, they eventually move onto lindy. You can take an ECS class as it's steps are part of the basics in lindy.

4. Dancelf

Dancelf Member