Tango Argentino > When only one partner takes Tango lessons

Discussion in 'Tango Argentino' started by Goldie Abaee, Dec 28, 2015.

1. Goldie Abaee

Goldie Abaee New Member

Hi forum: I am new here and I do not dance Tango but my boyfriend does. So I am hoping that I can get some perspective from you dancers out there.

My boyfriend and I are in a long distance but wonderful relationship for over a year now. He used to take Tango lessons more than 6 years ago and has not really been pursuing it since. He mentioned yesterday that a few months ago, he went to a Tango event to dance. I was bothered by this fact because 1)I found about it later and 2)Tango seems to be a very intimate dance which involves close physical contact with other women.

I am a professional bellydancer myself but my dance is a solo dance which does not involve dancing with a male partner. Even so, my boyfriend does not like it due to its sensual nature.

Anyway, I am bothered by the fact that IF he decides to pursue Tango again, it would involve being in social settings with other women and this is hard for me, given that we are apart in two different countries, despite the fact that we see each other at least twice a month.

From you tango dancers' perspectives, am I overracting? I know he loves Tango and as a dancer myself, I respect and understand one's passion for a dance form.

I did not want to get into an argument with him over this but I do not know who to handle it.

Thanks for any feedback about how I am feeling.

2. Mladenac

Mladenac Well-Known Member

Are you dressed why perform belly dancing?
    It's a solo act but with flirtations in mind.

Maybe you should talk with him to solve your insecurities.
    And BTW do you have a plan on moving in together, or to be always on the distance.

3. Goldie Abaee

Goldie Abaee New Member

of course I am dressed when I bellydance.