Swing Discussion Boards > When to learn to lead?

Discussion in 'Swing Discussion Boards' started by blue, Jul 21, 2004.

1. blue

blue New Member

I want very much to learn to lead... not so much because of shortage of leaders, more for the experience in itself. I very much like to follow, but I feel it is only half of the experience.

I have done about 40 classes plus some (but not extensive) social dancing. I have a brief fear that I might confuse the steps, if I start learning to lead to early - on the other hand I have heard that in some dances it is custom to learn both lead- and followsteps at the same time. You ladies out there who learned to lead, what kind of experiences do you have? Do you mix steps up and suddenly do strange stuff when you follow, or is it no problem at all?

2. twnkltoz

twnkltoz Well-Known Member

It rarely causes me a problem...I started learning to lead about 3 months after I started dancing. Just worry about the basics to start with and you should be ok! I think it would be really good for you as a follower to learn to lead a little.

3. Sagitta

Sagitta Well-Known Member

Way to go blue! :cheers:

Confused, getting mixed up? I find that if I do a dance equally as a follower and leader I can do both equally well. However, when I do one more then the other it takes a while to adjust from one role to another. So might have one bad song and then be okay after that.

4. suek

suek New Member

Some of the realizations and things I've learned since beginning to learn to lead:

Keeping them separate isn't difficult, as leading and following are two entirely different things (look 'em up!), I'm using MerriamWebster.com here:
    to lead to guide on a way especially by going in advance
    to follow to go, proceed, or come after
    So it's simple. when I lead I go first, when I follow, I wait to be led, moved.