Tango Argentino > Where's the BEEF?? or is it LEAD??

Discussion in 'Tango Argentino' started by Mario7, Feb 9, 2010.

1. Mario7

Mario7 Member

A recent post by a New Age Tango apologist;
    ""Everything about nuevo is lead. That is why I do insist that, within the right crowd, i.e. those who get the joke, nuevo _is_ social tango. No patterns, no choreography, no step sequences, etc. Every step, every motion, etc is led. And if I _do_ relax my lead, allowing the follow to give voice to her wishes as well, we both follow, we both lead, we really have a conversation, and none is rehearsed.""
    Yeah right:rolleyes:
    Please let me add my experience to the above myth; I took 30 classes from a famous Argentine Nuevo instructor/performer. I was told that I would learn the 'structure of tango'...what I got was the basic 8 for several classes and then when I graduated to the next level, I got (20 classes) a chorreography of the giro with sacadas. Of course no one mentioned the "C" word, we were just expected to memorize our steps without forgetting any...like three sacadas to each complete revolution of the giro... these classes were high energy and hard work (1 1/2hrs)...counting to the traditional tango..one thru eight beats...nothing relaxed and frequent criticizm from the instructor for working on these sequences sooo long and not yet 'getting' them. :cry:
    (cont. in next post)

2. Mario7

Mario7 Member