Salsa > Why do people enjoy salsa dancing so much?

Discussion in 'Salsa' started by Charli, Apr 22, 2009.

1. Charli

Charli New Member

I'm studying salsa for my Social Anthropology degree and was wondering what are people's inspiration for taking up salsa or carrying it on?

What does this dance form have that others don't?

If anyone could give me their salsa stories or stories of others that would be great!

Many thanks

2. kayak

kayak Active Member

I don't think Salsa is any different. There are people in every dance that absolutely love their form of dance. For example, many swing dancers think they have a lock on dance love.

3. Apache

Apache Member

For some of them its not even a think, its a "know". Hahaha.

4. wonderwoman

wonderwoman Well-Known Member

It's definitely more energetic and fun than others. And more social and playful. When my salsa lessons end I feel like a little kid when recess is over and I have to go back to boring school. Hehe. Esp. when he decides to switch to.. tango.. :p

5. etp777

etp777 Active Member

Welcome to DF, Charli. Sorry I'm a bit late. :)

6. tangotime

tangotime Well-Known Member

No more than R and R.. I teach both and the enthusiasm is about equal, maybe even more so in RandR...

7. wonderwoman

It is my personal opinion that is better than the rest (What's R&R?) but I am certainly biased.

8. etp777

etp777 Active Member

Rock & Roll

9. suburbaknght

suburbaknght Well-Known Member

It's not that people enjoy salsa so much more than other dances, but they enjoy it more now. Dances are often fads, and right now we're in a salsa fad (the tail end of one, I believe, but that remains to be seen). A dance fad may be kicked off by any number of factors: being prominent featured in a movie, a band that plays that style may be kicked off, or an underground movement explosion, are some of the most prominent. The end result is that a lot of people who'd previously rejected dance are exposed to a new dance.