Salsa > Why don't you ask him/her to dance?

Discussion in 'Salsa' started by salsachinita, Feb 2, 2004.

1. salsachinita

salsachinita New Member

Something MapleLeafSalsero said in "Hierarchy among dancers" thread inspired me to ask everyone here this question:

Why don't you ask him/her to dance?

I know it's a very general question to ask, but I am really interested to find out some of the reasons. Perhaps there would be something for all of us to learn.

Ok, I am talking about a normal club/social setting here, so no-one is obliged to ask anyone for a dance :wink: .

2. Xtreme Salsa

Xtreme Salsa New Member

Maybe because I suck? Honestly I'm a beginner and I dont feel comfortable yet to ask some people to dance at some salsa clubs. It just feels weird when your partner knows alot ore than you do and you slow them down because you dont know as much. But as time progresses I gain more and more confidence.

3. borikensalsero

borikensalsero Moderator

The places I frequent are geared towards the advance on2 NY City crowd, hence infering that we are all around the same level, the reasons why I wouldn't ask someone to dance are.

1- The person obviously doesn't enjoy the music.
    2- The person thinks spinning is danicng.
    3- She thinks she is too good looking.
    4- Stuck up dancers.
    5- The person always looks around when dancing, no matter who they dance with. 5 unexpected spins off beat gets their attention very quickly. :twisted:
    6- She is wearing one, or all of the following, short skirt, a tube top, no dance shoes.
    7- I just don't like the persons style.
    8- She is a self lead
    9- Can't adapt to the musics tempo from song to song and looks like she is dancing the same song even to a cha cha.
    10- And the number 10 reason why I wouldn't ask someone to dance is: Bad Hygiene

4. MapleLeaf Salsero

MapleLeaf Salsero New Member

Hi Salsachinita,