Country and Western > Why is Country Western Dance Changing so fast?

Discussion in 'Country and Western' started by Social Dancer, Dec 4, 2013.

1. Social Dancer

Social Dancer New Member

I don't know because I am new to CW Dancing but I can tell you why the old time Social Dancing has vanished.

The old time dances generally started with Quick Quick. Some did one slow after the two Quick's, some did a Quick Quick, &, Quick, some did Quick, Quick, Slow Slow. The old time Rumba was Quick, Quick, Slow. The old time Cha was 1,2,3,&,4. (You can bank on someday hearing someone teach CW Two Step as, Slow Slow, Quick, Quick.)

The old time dances came down from generation to generation and the they were taught to
    people by friends and relatives so everyone wanted them to be easy to learn.

When the for profit studio chains came they had to make dancing harder so they could make
    more money teaching it. They also wanted to say that they "Made Up" the dance steps,
    so they changed basic from Q,Q,S timing to, Slow, Quick Quick,. Still later they changed to have the dancers start on the 2ND beat. (Again to make it more difficult so they could make more money.)

Back in the Eighties those who made these changes found that they could not get new dancers
    so they raided the old time social dances of their people. One of the tricks they used on us was
    to make fun of the way we looked. (We had never danced for mirror or a camera so we didn't
    look as good as they did.)

Over the next thirty years the Competitive Instructors completely destroyed the old Social Ballroom Dance activity. They took all of our peopleand used them up,,,, but, now they have run out of us, so they are going after you guys. Once again they find themselves without enough dancers so they have come after yours.

If you check it out, you will find that nearly all of the top people in CW Dancing are now taking