Salsa > Why the weird reaction??

Discussion in 'Salsa' started by thespina13, Apr 17, 2006.

1. thespina13

thespina13 New Member

PasoDancer said in her last thread: "All I could remember was people laughing out loud and ridiculing me for announcing that I'd started taking ballroom lessons"

I get this too! Lately, when people ask me what I've been doing with myself, I have to tell them about dancing. Espcially since it's reached a level where I have a zen-like clarity about what I want to do with my life, and it includes dancing. Every person, other than my husband and ONE OTHER friend, oh.. and my grandmother ;), have reacted with one eyebrow raised and a "oooookay... Latin Dancing, huh? Interesting. Well good luck with that", as they sort of shake their heads. is it because they have no frame of reference? Is it because dance is something you can't really understand unless you try it? Is it because they don't see me as an athlete? I know they know I'm an artist, an actress... why is it a stretch to include dancing? Is it because they picture elderly couples in fluffly dresses circulating around a remote dance floor?

At any rate, I have a plan. I'll just invite them to watch me once, and then they'll understand.

Have you all had experiences like that? Why is it that dance, when seriously taken, is a little weird as a new past-time or career choice?

2. saludas

saludas New Member

Ignorant people tend to ridicule what they don't know or understand. Or are threatened by.

3. Leggie

Leggie New Member

That's true. Add to that the common perception of Ballroom/Latin dancing being something old people did (past tense), and you get to see why mainstream people don't appreciate the full sense of the art. Education is required...once they've been in a situation where knowing how to dance would be desirable, they'll probably admire and envy you more. The question is, can you set up such a situation?

4. It's Wonderful

It's Wonderful New Member