Salsa > Will leading only beginners roughen my lead?

Discussion in 'Salsa' started by Tony_Salvi, May 14, 2006.

1. Tony_Salvi

Tony_Salvi New Member

I started dancing salsa about 2-3 months ago. I usually stick dancing with beginners because I hear that is a good way to make sure a good follower is not compensating for your bad lead.

But what I am worried about is that since they are beginners I might be making my lead stronger than it should be. I am only a beginner myself so I'm not 100% sure of what an ideal lead should feel like.

I've tried dancing with more advanced followers, but I still feel uncomfortable because I feel they won't enjoy dancing with me. Any thoughts on this? I was thinking maybe private lessons would clear this up

2. Pootz

Pootz New Member

My experience is

o The best way is to mix beginners and advanced, although the feeling of not beeing "up to the task", when dancing with more advanced dancers will always be there - get used to it (and learn to ignore it)

o One comment on what advanced followers likes. I've heard many times when advanced followers have commented other guys dancing (I wonder why they never comment mine in my presence :)), and they appreciate a guy beeing "smooth" and paying attention to the lady, that is more important than executing 36 routines during a dance.

o My opinion is that rough lead never helps. Etiher the follower does not understand the lead you are trying to apply (maybe she is relatively new in the game) - breaking her arm won't make her understand. Or, she understands, but is unexperienced and doesn't have the speed to follow, pushing and yanking her around the floor won't help her, and it doesn't look very nice.

o You have been dancing for 2-3 months. That is not very long (actually, it is very short). Go dancing a lot, take courses, go to congresses, dance with all categories of dancers - you will make a lot of progress the coming years, and will have a heck of a good time.

3. Tony_Salvi