Salsa > Will learning Dancesport help my Salsa dancing?

Discussion in 'Salsa' started by emsalsa, May 13, 2006.

1. emsalsa

emsalsa New Member

Hi all,

I am a salsera and I have been dancing salsa for the past 3 years. I am quite good at body movement, improvisation and musicality. However I want to be really really good, especially when doing those sexy stylish moves in salsa performance. And I am thinking of learning Rumba in Dancesport. Because most of the time they try to idealise and maximise every little movement in Dancesport. Rumba is particularly difficult because it is slow and hence require much more intense and precise movement.

I have been stopped by my dancesport friend who was scarred that I might not be relax and spontanous any more when I dance salsa. People like my dance because it is very natural and "real", my friend's arguement has been that I will maximise and idealise with those "over the top" arms and body movements that wouldn't make it spicy and sexy any more, just sporty!

However I don't think I wouldnot be able to differentiate between dancing dancesport rumba and salsa, or have control over my movements and choose what fit best when.

I am mainly thinking about performing time, when I am on stage, I want to be really good, sexy, precise, and intense in my movement.

Please advise!

2. ssjss

ssjss New Member

Have you thought of taking belly dancing classes instead. I've know women that did this and it improved thier Rumba alot. This will help in body isolation in those sexy moves and how to control your body.

3. Big10

Big10 Member

If your primary objective is to look good on stage in a show designed by somebody else, then my guess is that you would concentrate on whatever the choreographer specifically wants you to do, so I don't think that dancesport would make much of a difference.