General Dance Discussion > Worried about... well. Dance stuff.

Discussion in 'General Dance Discussion' started by Twilight_Elena, Mar 6, 2007.

1. Twilight_Elena

Twilight_Elena Well-Known Member

Now that I'm finished with Bronze (and teacher exams), my teacher and I are going to prepare choreographies in three latin dances (Chacha, Rumba, Samba). Mostly it's because we want to work on technique and I'm not really interested in learning even more steps in Silver; I'd prefer to focus on my technique. But he also wants us to present those choreographies.
    Copied from a post of mine at a different thread:

In the words of my teacher, I'm not an advanced student anymore. I'm a beginner teacher. Thoughts?

T_E

2. Medira

Medira New Member

I think that putting together choreography for a performance will give you a target to aim for. That target date will help you to get the drive going (and maintained) so that you can improve faster.

When it comes down to the actual performance, your teacher, as the senior level dancer, is going to have to dance to your level. That way you'll look even. It will look just as bad on him (if not worse) if he's obviously "out-dancing" you as it would with you dancing at your best at your level.

Honestly, I think it's a good thing. It gives you something to work toward and something to focus your energy on. :)

3. quixotedlm

quixotedlm New Member

mmm... in a two-author paper, there is an expectation that both authors have done significant work, but when it really comes down to it, the more prestegious/experience author will be judged by his/her peers more harshly than the novice. i suppose the same applies to your situation also. so relax and try to stand on the shoulders of giants...

4. latingal

latingal Well-Known Member

mmm...TE, I agree with all the folks here, but I also think you have a legitimate concern.