General Dance Discussion > Would it still be fun if dancing is a full time job?

Discussion in 'General Dance Discussion' started by FTL, Dec 1, 2005.

1. FTL

FTL New Member

In reading one of the threads, dancing seems to be fun when you have another job to support it. I wonder if dancing is still fun when it is a full time job. I have seen a locally produced documentary of a successful pro and they feel that it is not fun but work and hard work. That's not to mention financial challenges in maintaining a dance studio. What do you feel?

Please disregard thread if discussed previously.

2. Sagitta

Sagitta Well-Known Member

I wouldn't want to make it a full time job...but I find it fun as something to do part-time.

3. Lucretia

Lucretia New Member

I think that everytime your hobby becomes your work - it looses its charm. There is no excapism left when it is you everyday work.

It happened to me when I started painting at my every day work as IT consult (we started up a design office). For many years I had a part time work as artist. As far as I worked as system engineer and painted one-two days a week it work fine. But when the borderline disappeared - it lost its magic.

I don't paint anymore.

/Luc

4. cornutt

cornutt Well-Known Member

That's very true. When you're relying on a particular activity to put food on the table, that can't help but change your perception of it. I really enjoy music, and I'm moderately good at it, but I have absolutely no desire to be a professional musician. (Especially after seeing what my brother went through when he tried it. :headwall: )

5. Twilight_Elena

Twilight_Elena Well-Known Member

Still, you'll be doing something for a living anyway. Why not do something you love? That's what all the career consultants say, isn't it?

Twilight Elena

6. tanya_the_dancer

tanya_the_dancer Well-Known Member