General Dance Discussion > Would taking dance lessons improve my posture?

Discussion in 'General Dance Discussion' started by Daniel_Kemp, May 13, 2011.

1. Daniel_Kemp

Daniel_Kemp New Member

Hi.

I want to improve my posture.

Would taking dance lessons improve my posture? If they would, then what dance style(s) should I take lessons in?

Thank you,

Daniel Kemp

2. Steve Pastor

Steve Pastor Moderator Staff Member

Not African or hip hop or krumping!

But, yes, a good teacher who is teaching "European" influenced style (as opposed to "African" influenced or even "authentic" country western) dancing should guide you in the direction of having better posture.

I love Argentine Tango, but wouldn't send an absolute beginner into it.

If you are a beginner, I guess I'd have to say "ballroom". But, it COULD be highly teacher dependent. So, if you are taking lessons and you aren't hearing anything about posture, you are going to want to look elsewhere.

Hey, welcome to DF.

3. Daniel_Kemp

Daniel_Kemp New Member

Hi Steve,

Thank you for the reply.

Argentine Tango lessons should be done by people who already know another style of dance?

I will look at "ballroom" dancing classes near me.

Thank you again,

Daniel Kemp

4. LCbaseball22

LCbaseball22 Member

Add Lindy Hop to the NOT list, LOL...some of the worst posture dancing I've seen.

But yeah, in general I guess that's one of the benefits (especially ballroom dances like Waltz, Foxtrot, and Tango) because I had a peer remark that I have great posture which I thought was funny because I tend to slouch and/or hunch over and my parents have said repeatedly that I need better posture. I told them what this guy said figuring they'd laugh but they actually agreed; said they'd noticed my posture has significantly improved. :)

5. opendoor

opendoor Well-Known Member