Dancers Anonymous > Yart!

Discussion in 'Dancers Anonymous' started by quixotedlm, Aug 2, 2007.

1. quixotedlm

quixotedlm New Member

Yet Another Relationship Thread :)

We need a sub-forum under Dancers Anonymous for relationship discussion :) :rolleyes:

2. samina

samina Well-Known Member

alright, quix... what you got cookin' now...??? ;)

3. quixotedlm

quixotedlm New Member

So peeps, any advice on fending off romantic overtures in the dance scene?

Being a guy, I'm not an expert at fending off come-ons very well. Not enough practice.

I'm just slowly recovering from a previous break up and ready to be open about relationships. But not with this particular person. I've known her for over a year, and she really really likes dancing with me. Many would consider her int-advanced just like me and a good salsera, but I don't enjoy dancing with her as much as she does with me. I don't hate dances with her either.

Besides that, she has been hinting, during conversations, at common things in our life etc. They are somewhat factually correct, but not entirely so. Some of the common aspects are important to her but not important to me (so the common factors, from my perspective, is merely incidental).

Most importantly - I'm not attracted to her. She is good looking, well comported, articulate, smart and all that. But I don't feel anything. If I had to bet money on it, I'd bet that my feelings won't change ever.

I can't figure out how to avoid conversations with her - becuase we share friends and she is there when we hang out. She goes dancing pretty much everywhere I go and comes over to talk to me during breaks etc. I don't like the idea of suddenly turning cold towards her and stopping being friendly. And I don't want to start avoiding a second person in the scene for romantic reason when I'm just going through the process of avoiding one person already...