Balance Between Moves and Basic Steps

I was recently having a discussion with a friend about how he thought he was just starting to do way to many moves instead of taking time to just slow down a bit and do the basic steps. Once he mentioned that, I also realized that now that I have been dancing a while and know a lot of moves, I do tend to just go from move to move more. When I was a beginner I took some time between moves to do a few basics. I am curious if there any opinions from follows out there? Do you prefer to take some time just to do a few basics or is a lot of moves okay? Whats the perfect balance?

snapdancer

In general, a leader should be sensitive to how his follower is handling things. If things start getting shaky, go back to the basic. Quite often, that allows the partnership to get back in sync so you can try something else.

Siggav

I find that musicality, play and conversational dancing (as in the follow gets to have more of a say) happens more when you're not just chaining moves together. Having a couple of basics in between sometimes makes sense to let the dance breathe and provide openings for variations and stuff.

Also dances can be more fun when there's a bit of an arc in teems of the intensity and how complicated/flashy the moves are.

You can still do a lot of the breathing and changes in intensity while chaining moves together obviously but it's sonething to think ablut. Ali and Katja put it quite well saying: "less leading, more dancing!" As in if you're not constantly leading moves you have more time to dance yourself too and trust that your follow can dance themselves too

Angel HI