First Comp Intl Standard

Hi everyone! This is my first competition in standard. Any constructive criticism is welcome.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wxSXHkOG_gs

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=71rOxKJWaPA

latingal

Welcome to DF CTSalsa!

Just so our members know, would you like comments on both leader and follower?

Also, congratulations on your first competition in standard! Did you enjoy?

I am not a standard expert, but I do hope those more qualified to comment will be along soon.

Thank you for the welcom LG. I am the lead, but any comments on the follow is fine too. I agree with you and123. I was really nervous and concentrating on dancing my center so much that I think I looked rather stiff.

and123

Better than NOT moving :p

Curious - what is "Pre-Novice"? Looked like some non-syllabus steps in there. If so, bonus points for attempting that level at your first Standard comp.

"Better than Not moving." Ha ha ha. I was almost at that point. You should see the first round of waltz which I am too embarassed to post for the public to see. I was really nervous and kept forgetting the routine every time we ran into other couples on the floor. Basically we didn't get a chance to dance the 2nd half of the rountine. We pretty much repeated 2 step figures over and over. I was suprised we got called back.

At this particular event the categories were, bronze, silver, gold, pre-novice, novice, pre-champ, champ. I think at most comps, the rule for pre-novice is restricted to syllabus and the novice level allows open figures. But I think the rules are more relaxed at this comp or maybe it's just different. I don't know. Thank for the bonus points. They were fun steps to do. Although we're going to have to take them out of our routine for future comps, um... for various reasons. :oops: