I am thinking about taking privates during the summer

I am considering taking private lessons during the summer to speed up the learning process. Something like 1 or 2 hours per week during 4-6 weeks in July and August.

First perhaps a few words about myself. I took 4 months of lessons as a complete beginner between January and May 2016. Went to a few milongas and a few practicas. I liked tango and I got an idea of the mountain to climb. But I didn’t restart tango lessons between September 2016 and June 2017 because I was doing an Atlantic tour with my sailboat (Belgium -> Britanny-> Galicia -> Lisbon -> Canary Islands -> Carabean Islands -> Azores Islands -> Canary Islands). Restarted tango lessons in October 2017 at beginner level with a different teacher.

What am I able to do at this stage? I would say that I understand the basics, even though execution is probably far from perfect. Beside elementary steps, we have trained giros CW and CCW including sacada in side step, 8CB with led cruzada and various exits from 8CB, sanguchito, and ocho cortado.

What would I like to improve?
- How to eliminate the need to check the feet of my partner from time to time.
- Navigation skills. How to react elegantly to navigation problems.
- Dancing with more musicality. With focus on milonga and vals music which I find more complicated than tango.
- All kinds of small, easy sequences to bring more variety in my dance, but without using new techniques. I am thinking for example of sequences like the Baldosa box

I don’t really want to learn new techniques, because I will do so during the regular lessons at intermediate level next year.

What do you think? Good or bad idea? Any suggestions?

Mladenac

The beginners - intermediate (beginners) are have too much energy and are a bit like firecrackers.
And there are too much stuff going on and it is common that they get overwhelmed by the sheer information needs to be processed.