Keeping track of partner's free leg

Hi everybody,

I started learning Tango in January. After two Milonga's, I find myself still stepping way too often on my partner's toes. That almost never happened during the weekly lessons. Obviously a consequence of the more chaotic environment of a Milonga.

In some cases, I believe that I did the following error: for example RF forward, collect because no space ahead, change weight (but not that of my partner), then RF forward again. OK, that I should be able to solve myself. I guess that it is also possible that my partners (also beginners) changed weight without lead. But of course, the more frequent cause is probably that I forgot to keep track of my partner's free leg. My question is thus: how do you keep track of your partner's free leg without looking to the ground? Any tips welcome.

Thanks in advance,

François

Mladenac

Unconciously :bookworm:

Try to play with weight change and try to guess on which leg is your partner.
Or try to lead ochos or some other element where you need to be in cross system.

It seems that it is more problematic for you to notice in which system is partner not hitting her toes.

If you had problems with hitting her toes in correct system you would need to go under her (hips first) to hit her.

Steve Pastor

Staff member
Your question reminds me how hard this dance can be to learn

I would advocate concentrating on the weighted leg, rather than the free leg. You can develop a sense of where her foot is on the floor. And here I have to add that a good partner will make it clear which foot her weight is on, both when she steps, and by not putting any weight on the "free" leg.

What ever you do next, you know not to step on that weighted foot. It's very likely isn't going anywhere.

If you are moving forward, make sure your upper body moves first. While your partner's weighted leg won't move, her free leg should move first.
If your foot goes first, you are going to have a problem.