Pattern dancing

My background is other kinds of dancing (folk, etc), have done some ballroom, a friend is trying to interest me in CW.

I have seen, at a local bar (1) "freestyle", like ballroom, where the man leads, (2) Pattern? ballroom type steps (cha-cha) in couples, everybody doing the same thing, possibly with some minor variations such as extra turns and (3) line dances.

"pattern" is the name my friend used. I think she said there was another name used by some people too that I forgot. I could not find any reference to pattern dances in the CW forum here, if I am searching correctly.

I have seen directions/videos for (1) and (3) on the universal country western dance council site, but have not seen any organized table of pattern dances.

Can anybody point me to a list that is sorted by difficulty and/or rhythm? I am specifically looking for Nightclub, cha-cha, triple-two rhythm dances for a cross community program possibility.

thank you.

Carey

Steve Pastor

Staff member
This is as close as I can get you without adding to my list of "Things To Do".

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Country-western_dance
Follow links to individual dances where you MAY find something useful.

(2) Pattern? ballroom type steps (cha-cha) in couples, everybody doing the same thing, possibly with some minor variations such as extra turns
Cowboy or Traveling Cha Cha, Schottische, 10 Step, Cotton Eye Joe...
Sometimes called Partner Pattern Dances or Western Promenade Dances

"Triple Two" often refers to one type of Two Step usually done to slower songs. Same "rhythm as West Coast Swing "basic".

Line dances can be found here:
http://www.kickit.to/ld/Search.html?json=1&PHPSESSID=57306be0cdea3442380f33da4f26fe40
and
http://www.linedancermagazine.com/

There used to be a Super Dance Floor site, but it's gone the way of so much on the web.

kayak

Hey there BR-folk-square,