"picking up" at salsa events

I've been dancing for 6 months now and I go out about 4 times a week.

Most of the time when I go out it's just to dance and enjoy myself. However, to be honest I originally got into dancing to meet more girls, and I while I meet attractive girls every night that I know are attracted to me (it's easy to tell after a dance if that's the case :), I don't ever try to take things to another level...

It seems out of place to ask for a phone number on the dance floor. So my question is... what should I do? Are any salsa girls out there looking to hook up that night? How do I parlay a passionate dance into something more?

Hooking up that night is touchy. Of course, i'm taken so it's not an issue for me. However, I have no problem giving or receiving phone numbers. That's a nice gesture and totally low-key. Another thing that's pretty casual but which can easily evolve into something else is going for one of those famous and frequently discussed after-salsa bites to eat. It's wise to always treat a woman without expectation and lots of respect, but there's nothing wrong with asking for something casually more... some situation where she can feel comfortable and not awkward about backing out or leaving it at a "thanks, it was nice to meet you and those onion rings were great", or, hopefully, "do you have any tequila at your place?"

sweavo

nycsalsero said:

Most of the time when I go out it's just to dance and enjoy myself. However, to be honest I originally got into dancing to meet more girls, and I while I meet attractive girls every night that I know are attracted to me (it's easy to tell after a dance if that's the case :),
Don't be so sure... on the dance floor it's a fantasy world and you get to wear a fantasy character.

How do I parlay a passionate dance into something more?