Real couples dancing Tango...Can it hurt them?

My partner and I are in a committed relationship for 2 years now. Years ago he used to take up tango and really enjoyed it. The other day when his friends mentioned if he and I should take up tango together, my boyfriend firmly disagreed and said that it is a very bad idea for real couples to dance tango together, because it hurts and breaks the relationship due to the fact that each person can end up criticizing one another. He said he has witnessed this with many couples.

I have never danced tango so I cannot say I am an expert in this area. But I thought that it would be healthy and romantic for 2 people who love each other to try dancing together. But can learning the dance hurt the relationship?

IF we were to tango together, I can say that I have not danced tango at all and would be a complete beginner, whereas he wouldnt be.

What is your view and opinion about real couples dancing together? Is it healthy or can it be damaging?

My wife and I dance and have seen many other couples. How you, as a couple behave in Tango is similar to how you will behave outside of it. If you are inclined to criticize each other, it doesn't matter if it's Tango or how you cook a meal, clean the house or split up any other type of activity. Tango does intensify certain aspects of relationships such as tolerance of one another's different skill levels and how you learn together, jealousy - as you will dance with other partners who are more attractive, more skilled. As a generalization, I would say it's a great test of how you will work together if you keep your relationship going. Specifically, yes...there is a slight chance that you are wonderful together and the only thing you both couldn't handle is Tango. But, I think it's telling that your partner is already judging that you both could not Tango with one another.