Staying on beat

Hey swing dancers,
I have been learning to lead Lindy hop about once a week since September 2007. I have learned lots of moves and still manage to get off beat a majority of the time.

Does anyone have any suggestions/strategies to stay on beat and in tune with the music? I may be over counting in my head, I usually silently count 1-2-3-4-5-6-7-8 throughout the entire song. But then again I'm not sure.

Thanks,

waltzgirl

Welcome to DF!

I had the same problem in my first few months of dancing. I found that the part of my brain that thinks in words/numbers and the part of my brain that listens to music don't actually communicate very well! So when I first started dancing, I could start counting, then the focus on the words "one, two, etc." took over, and then I was counting them to my own rhythm, not the music. So I learned to let my body react to the beat without the intervention of my brain--tapping out the rhythm on the steering wheel to the radio (at stoplights!), tapping my toe to music, etc. (Story I've told here before: I learned to trust my body's reactions when my teacher pointed out one time that, simultaneously with telling him I couldn't hear the beat of a song, my head was nodding along to it perfectly in time.)

I can count now along with the music, but it was a skill I had to develop, to get those parts of the brain cooperating. :)

Does anyone have any suggestions/strategies to stay on beat and in tune with the music? I may be over counting in my head, I usually silently count 1-2-3-4-5-6-7-8 throughout the entire song. But then again I'm not sure.
Warning: westie disclaimer applies.

1) Always be listening to music, and trying to figure out where you are. Driving to work? Tuck in a CD or tune a local station and find the beat. Watching the game on TV? Listen to the band and find the beat. Listen to the commercial jingles and find the beat. Spend Christmas eve stalking the carolers and find the beat.