Swing out

I am a newbie and I am a follower. I am learning swing-out and I found a nice tutorial video on youtube (video ID is xC0NrRqKwi4).

I have a question about the beginning of a swing-out. How do I tell the difference between "a regular leader's rock step" and "a rock stop asking the follower to swivel"? That means, when the leader steps his left foot back, I don't know if he wants me to also do a rock step or to do a swivel.

Thank you.

bookish

Swivels begin (approximately) on the 6-7 of the "previous" swingout or move, so a lead for swivels on the 1 would be pretty abrupt unless you both know what you're doing and have good connection. It's something that fits into the overall movement.

Followers can also just make swiveling part of their movement in swingouts.

With good connection it's possible for leaders to emphasize swiveling or non-swiveling movement, but IMO it takes some sensitivity in both partners and again, it's part of the overall movement not just "on 1".

leee

@isend, welcome to DF!

As for when follows are "supposed" to swivel, it's whenever they please. I've found that the etiquette is not to lead swivels, that they are a styling choice and are solely the follow's prerogative, though, as bookish says, they do start fairly early (and I'm trying hard to not look like a drunk giraffe when I try to swivel as a follow).

bookish

As with so many things, "it's complicated."

I too sense a general perception that followers choose swivels and that insisting upon them is rude, although there are teachers who teach that they are led.