Tango or milonga?

Hello, i am pretty new to tango,and i can distinguish a traditional tango from a traditional milonga,but when it comes to more recent stuff,it gets a bit confusing.My classmates can tell a milonga by being "more uplifting".Me,being a musician, i can tell it by the rhythm,but i notice that a few songs that are considered tangos,share the same rhythm.

For example,in this song from the movie "easy virtue" : (/watch?v=sReQCkYB7CA ) ,the piano plays a rhythm that sounds like a slow milonga. If you notice, in Astor Piazzola's "Milonga del angel" (/watch?v=Pe0lA-ZHIY8) ,the bass plays the same rhythm,a reaaallllyyyy slow milonga.

So, why should the first song be considered a tango, and the second a milonga?Is it right to distinguish based solely on the vibe? I have heard a lot of songs with the same issue,can anyone (maybe being an argentine or a musician) address any opinions?

dchester

Staff member
Hello, i am pretty new to tango,and i can distinguish a traditional tango from a traditional milonga,but when it comes to more recent stuff,it gets a bit confusing.My classmates can tell a milonga by being "more uplifting".Me,being a musician, i can tell it by the rhythm,but i notice that a few songs that are considered tangos,share the same rhythm.

For example,in this song from the movie "easy virtue" : (/watch?v=sReQCkYB7CA ) ,the piano plays a rhythm that sounds like a slow milonga. If you notice, in Astor Piazzola's "Milonga del angel" (/watch?v=Pe0lA-ZHIY8) ,the bass plays the same rhythm,a reaaallllyyyy slow milonga.

So, why should the first song be considered a tango, and the second a milonga?Is it right to distinguish based solely on the vibe? I have heard a lot of songs with the same issue,can anyone (maybe being an argentine or a musician) address any opinions?
Who says the second one is a milonga? As far as I'm concerned, it's not. It doesn't have a milonga emotion to it, nor does it have a milonga tempo.