Using that time to shine

Hi!
I just found this forum and it seems very nice! I've been dancing lindy hop for about three years now, and it's the best! Before I've never been much of a dancer, and when going out partying I've always preferred the talking rather than the dancing.

When following I can really just be in the music and the moment. But when the lead gives me space to do something solo I always feel quite lost. Any tips what i should think/do? Like when we're hanging back in open position and the leader doesn't lead in but instead does something tricksy?
Or this (in my opinion) really weird move where the lead turns around with his back to me and puts my hand on his shoulder and were supposed to be some kind of lindy train but with no real connection, we don't even see each other?

Too often i just end up twisting and waiting for a lead out of it, loosing that great feeling I have when dancing together and killing the moment.

Steve Pastor

Staff member
I thought that by now one of our Lindy Hoppers would have come around to help you out. I don't actually do the dance, but...

the lead turns around with his back to me and puts my hand on his shoulder and were supposed to be some kind of lindy train but with no real connection, we don't even see each other?
Would that be tandem Charleston?

I'm begining to think that there was Lindy Hop before there was much of any swing music, which accounts for there being so much Charleston in the dance. Frankie Manning put Charleston steps in as the #2 item in the videos he did.

Far as shines...

I always thought "swivels" were a go to step. There a sailor steps, or sailor shuffles, kick steps, taps, any number of things.
I can't tell you what would be the most commn things in Lindy, though.

Hopefully people who do the dance will come along and help out.

And welcome to DF.

bookish