Verry Newbie - Can I start to practice dance at 35 years old? And what style is recommend to start please? :)

Dear all,

I am a supper newbie, however, I feel very happy to let my body follow the melody, can I start now? At age of 35? Do you think it is possible, please?

Any advice should be supper thankful.
Anna

I didn't start taking dance lessons until the age of 58 so go for it! I started private lessons in Smooth and Rhythm but then decided I wanted to focus on Smooth. Focusing on the one style in my private lessons allowed my skills to progress much faster. I started competing in ProAm in December . . . pretty sure that I wouldn't have been able to do as well if I hadn't focused. I keep my minimal rhythm skills going through group classes and dance camp. You're getting started a lot earlier than I did so you're journey may be different. We have two ladies in their 90's that still take lessons at our studio so age 35 is nothing!

Definitely, go for it!

I started at 29 and I love it. Like @True Bliss I tried a few styles (Smooth, Rhythm, and Latin) before deciding to focus on Latin to speed up my progress; at least to begin with. That being said, I don't think there's a right or wrong way to go about it. If you love multiple styles, dance them all! You'll probably end up more well rounded than I will be :p. Just do whatever makes you happy.

The one piece of advice I have (that I wish someone had given me when I first started) would be to try out a few places before you go and purchase a package and lock yourself into any one place. Each studio--especially the small independent ones--has its own vibe, training style, etc. so I'd make sure to shop around a bit.

Dear all,

I am a super newbie, however, I feel very happy to let my body follow the melody, can I start now? At age of 35? Do you think it is possible, please?
Anna