samina
Well-Known Member
i'm looking for a bit of feedback, here... my son found a beautiful used jetta on sale through craigslist. the scenario thru which he'd purchase it is unusual, tho... and the listing has even just been flagged by craigslist for removal.
here's what the guy emailed my son about the car:
"Hello,
You have to know that the car I am selling is 100% working and great
looking, no flaws or dents, no scratches or any kind of damage. The title is
clear. It has only 76,900 miles. The VIN# is 3VWSC29M9XM060784
I have the pictures of the car hosted at the following address:
http://usera.imagecave.com/MyWhiteJetta/
The only problem is my current situation. I am an US Air Force Sergeant and
I was called to serve in Serbia for peace maintenance, after that I bought
some land here and I have planned to build and work here; so my wife and two
kids joined me one month ago and brought the car with her, but we decided to
sell it back in the United States, because we can't drive it here; it has US
specs on it and registering it here in Europe will take for ever.
My final price on this is $ 2,990. If you will take it for this price, I am
willing to handle the shipping.
Also this car will arrive with all the documentation's required for
registration and the keys. I will send you all the papers and documents
(clear title, bills of sale, car's manual) to prove the ownership and to be
able to register it with no problem. The clear title and the bill of sale
will be both signed so you can become owner of the car on the spot.
So if you decide on buying the car, I want the deal closed only through
eBay's Vehicle Purchase program. You will make the payment to eBay and they
will hold the money until you receive the car. ONLY AFTER you receive the
car and you inspect it, eBay will release the payment to me, in this way we
are both protected. If you are an honest buyer, I believe you will have no
objection to this.
I considered that it is honest for me to tell you my situation, so that you
know what the transaction will involve.
If you agree with the above terms please get back to me and include in your
e-mail your full name and address where you want it shipped so I can start
the deal with eBay.
With Regards,
<and he gives his first & last name>"
the photos of the vehicle look they're taken in an american neighborhood, not serbian...
does this sound legit? i mean, it could be... but i'm not savvy about buying cars... what do you think?
here's what the guy emailed my son about the car:
"Hello,
You have to know that the car I am selling is 100% working and great
looking, no flaws or dents, no scratches or any kind of damage. The title is
clear. It has only 76,900 miles. The VIN# is 3VWSC29M9XM060784
I have the pictures of the car hosted at the following address:
http://usera.imagecave.com/MyWhiteJetta/
The only problem is my current situation. I am an US Air Force Sergeant and
I was called to serve in Serbia for peace maintenance, after that I bought
some land here and I have planned to build and work here; so my wife and two
kids joined me one month ago and brought the car with her, but we decided to
sell it back in the United States, because we can't drive it here; it has US
specs on it and registering it here in Europe will take for ever.
My final price on this is $ 2,990. If you will take it for this price, I am
willing to handle the shipping.
Also this car will arrive with all the documentation's required for
registration and the keys. I will send you all the papers and documents
(clear title, bills of sale, car's manual) to prove the ownership and to be
able to register it with no problem. The clear title and the bill of sale
will be both signed so you can become owner of the car on the spot.
So if you decide on buying the car, I want the deal closed only through
eBay's Vehicle Purchase program. You will make the payment to eBay and they
will hold the money until you receive the car. ONLY AFTER you receive the
car and you inspect it, eBay will release the payment to me, in this way we
are both protected. If you are an honest buyer, I believe you will have no
objection to this.
I considered that it is honest for me to tell you my situation, so that you
know what the transaction will involve.
If you agree with the above terms please get back to me and include in your
e-mail your full name and address where you want it shipped so I can start
the deal with eBay.
With Regards,
<and he gives his first & last name>"
the photos of the vehicle look they're taken in an american neighborhood, not serbian...
does this sound legit? i mean, it could be... but i'm not savvy about buying cars... what do you think?